Guide to the departments and adjunct facilities

Faculty Guide: The Shizuoka University Faculty of Agriculture has been reformed into two departments.

In academic year 2016, the Shizuoka University Faculty of Agriculture reformed into two departments: the Department of Bioresource Sciences and the Department of Applied Life Sciences. In both departments, students begin by taking basic courses in agricultural science to get an overview of the agricultural science discipline and to get some practice in its various fields.
The Department of Bioresource Sciences trains students to encourage the development of agriculture- and forestry-related industries in mountainous areas and flatlands, as well as to overcome pertinent environmental issues and problems in rural districts. From the second year, students choose from among four courses of study: Plant Bioscience, in which students study how to improve food production technology; Wood Science and Technology, in which students study effective utilization of forest resources; Applied Ecology and Environmental Science, in which students study environmental conservation of agricultural land and forests; and Agro-food Community Design, which aims to create leaders for the next generation who can bring together the agriculture and forestry industries (i.e., producers) and society (i.e., consumers).
The Department of Applied Life Sciences trains students who will be active in the biotechnology and life sciences industries, using a curriculum that takes a gradualism-based approach to the various fields within Applied Life Sciences, of which chemistry and biology are the foundations.

Department list

Adjunct facilities

Related facilties